Contact:

Dustin Van Orne
Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth                                 
817.840.2151                                                                      
dustin@themodern.org

 

For immediate release

Fort Worth, TX

June 13, 2013

 

 

SAVE THE DATE!

Fort Worth Cultural District Museums and Community Arts Center

Host Day in the District

 

September 28, 2013 from 10 am to 5 pm

 

https://www.facebook.com/FWDayInTheDistrict

Fort Worth’s Cultural District is home to many acclaimed museums and cherished community organizations. These institutions are happy to announce the eighth annual Day in the District, a celebration of the rich and diverse cultural organizations in Fort Worth, with exciting, entertaining, and interactive programming and performances.  The museums will offer FREE admission, and performing arts organizations from Fort Worth will offer free performances in and around the district (organizations and schedule to be announced).  Outdoor performances and events entice visitors out among the landscaped grounds.  Visitors can park their cars and enjoy events and venues all day, as the district is pedestrian friendly with a circulator provided by The T.  This festival is designed to invite local residents to enjoy the world-class cultural experiences offered in Fort Worth.  It also provides an opportunity for those who are not aware of the various organizations in our community to discover something wonderful and new.  Come spend a Day in the District, and see Fort Worth’s cultural treasures!


Complimentary transportation within the Cultural District is provided by The T.   Free parking and water provided by UNTHSC.

 

 

 

Exhibitions on view:

 

Amon Carter Museum of American Art

June Wayne: The Tamarind Decade

John Albok’s Neighborhood

 

Botanical Research Institute of Texas

Kochi Makino: An Amazing Botanical Garden in Japan

 

Cattle Raisers Museum

Located within the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History

Fort Worth Botanic Garden

Fort Worth Community Arts Center

Water, Water by Mona Marshall

 

Fort Worth Museum of Science and History

Fort Worth Children's Museum, DinoLabs & DinoDig, Energy Blast, Innovation Studios

Kimbell Art Museum

The Kimbell's collections range in period from antiquity to the 20th century and include European masterpieces by artists such as Michelangelo, Caravaggio and Monet.

 

Log Cabin Village

Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth
México Inside Out: Themes in Art Since 1990

 

National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame

 

 

 

Contact information for individual institutions:

 

 

Amon Carter Museum of American Art

Tracy Greene

817.989.5067 tracy.greene@cartermuseum.org

 

Botanical Research Institute of Texas

Chris Chilton

817-546-8691 cchilton@brit.org

 

Fort Worth Botanic Garden

Larinda Smith

817-871-7966 Larinda.Smith@fortworthtexas.gov

 

Fort Worth Community Arts Center

Marla Fleischmann Owen

817.298.3026  marla@artscouncilfw.org

 

Fort Worth Museum of Science and History

Philip Gonzalez

817.255.9411 PGonzalez@fwmsh.org

 

Kimbell Art Museum

Jessica Brandrup
817-332-8451 ext. 241 jbrandrup@kimbellmuseum.org

Log Cabin Village

Rena Lawrence

817.392.6769  rena.lawrence@fortworthtexas.gov

 

Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth

Dustin Van Orne

817.840-2151 dustin@themodern.org

 

National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame

Mallory Ethridge

817.509.8981 mallory@cowgirl.net


–END–